dramachicky redux

Last night I was at a party and someone asked me, “When are you going to start blogging it up again?” and my immediate response wasn’t so much an answer as a realization: “Wow…I haven’t blogged in a really long time.”

Now, that’s not entirely true. I blogged last week on my theatre group’s website, just a brief little snippet about what makes being a theatre artist so great. But when was the last time I blogged as dramachicky? September 27, 2012. Just over 8 months ago. I checked. I was going to include exactly how many days that is, but that’s math I don’t feel like doing right now. The point is, it’s been long enough and I’m coming back.

One of the things I figured out about being a writer while I was still working on my graduate thesis is that rules are meant to be broken. The last time I blogged consistently I gave myself rules about how many times per week I would blog and what days I would blog and what I would blog about on what days…

And suddenly, blogging felt like work. Not that it isn’t work, but it should at least be fun work, right? I’m a writer for crying out loud; I ENJOY writing. And if the rules are killing that enjoyment then maybe I just need to chill and blog about whatever my little heart desires, whenever my little heart desires it.

So here I am. No rules. No promises. Just hopes for my blogging future. For now I’ll tell you that as both a writer and a theatre artist I have some pretty exciting projects in the works that I want to keep you posted on. *pause to dangle carrot* One of those exciting projects involves the very first production of my play, Drowning Ophelia. So stay tuned, because dramachicky is back…again. And this time, there ARE no rules!  ;-)

About dramachicky

I am a dramachick: a playwright, actress, director, wife, singer, reader, aunt, daughter, student, teacher, and dreamer. My husband has taken to calling me dramachicky. :-) I have my M.A. and M.F.A. in creative writing/playwriting from Wilkes University. My husband and I started a small theatre group in northeast Pennsylvania called Ghostlight Productions. I love all things theatre and I am thrilled to launch this blog as a celebration of women playwrights.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to dramachicky redux

  1. Glad to see you back! I feel like I’ve taken a semi-permenant break from blogging, too. I’ve been writing elsewhere, but when I consider writing formally (I guess to me, blogging is “formal writing”), I just can’t seem to get into it. I trust it will come back, but not yet. And I’m trying to respect that. But I am excited to read about your adventures in the meanwhile. (No pressure!)

    • dramachicky says:

      Thanks so much for the encouragement! I have to admit, I miss Musical Mondays but believe me, I understand how you feel! I’m happy to be back and even more so, I’m thrilled to be excited about blogging again. Give it time; when you start missing it more than dreading it, you’ll know you’re on your way back. ;-) Thanks again!

Leave a Reply

