Welcome, dramachicks!

I am

a playwright

an actress

a director

a wife

a singer

a reader

a woman of passion and life

I am a dramatist…

no

…a dramachick

and here’s to you

the others like me

a voice in the void

telling the truth

through ficticious means

let’s give the world our words

our eyes

our ears

our hearts

and our dreams.

So what is a dramachick?

Those of us who work in theatre — actors, directors, playwrights, whatever — are often referred to as dramatists. I like the idea of being a dramachick, specifically, a woman who works in theatre, one in a sisterhood of idealists who are just as proud to be female as they are to be theatre artists.

A study was done by Princeton student Emily Glassberg Sands which uncovered a surprising and disappointing trend in discrimination against female playwrights. To read the New York Times article click here.

The goal of this website is two-fold: to celebrate women playwrights and to increase awareness of the what they are writing, in the hopes of encouraging an increase in production of their work.

You will see blog posts about the plays women are writing, what’s being produced, and what isn’t being produced and should be. I will post interviews with women playwrights about what they’re writing, their writing process, and their opinions on the world of theatre. I will do profiles on some of my favorite women playwrights, as well as reviews of new (or new to me!) works by women, whether read or witnessed. I’ll post news as I encounter it (did you know that in September 2010 the Globe Theatre in London saw its VERY FIRST production of a play by a female playwright? Article here). Looking for something else?  Let me know! I am open to ideas and excited about further exploring the vast world of women playwrights.

Thanks for joining me, fellow dramachicks!

Coming Soon: An interview with playwright Caridad Svich. I referenced her works Twelve Ophelias and Wreckage in my master of fine arts paper entitled “Maidens and Monsters: Manifestations of Ophelia and Medea in Modern Playwriting” and she graciously offered to give me my first interview for this blog. Check out more on her and her works at her webpage.

About dramachicky

I am a dramachick: a playwright, actress, director, wife, singer, reader, aunt, daughter, student, teacher, and dreamer. My husband has taken to calling me dramachicky. :-) I have my M.A. and M.F.A. in creative writing/playwriting from Wilkes University. My husband and I started a small theatre group in northeast Pennsylvania called Ghostlight Productions. I love all things theatre and I am thrilled to launch this blog as a celebration of women playwrights.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Welcome, dramachicks!

  1. Matthew says:

    An exciting new blog ~~ But I’m not surprised! Can’t wait to see your ongoing posts!

  2. dramachicky says:

    Thanks, Matt! 🙂

Leave a Reply

