Announcing “Adventures with Chicky!”

Here’s a little piece of information you probably never needed to know; whenever my husband and I go on a trip together (or, more often, when we’re driving and get lost together), he will at some point, inevitably, turn to me and in a long, drawn-out radio announcer voice he’ll say “ADVENTUUUURES….WIIIITH….CHICKYYYYYYYYY!”  (Have I mentioned before that my husband’s nickname for me is “Chicky?” True story.)

Well, on Monday, October 10 (that’s this coming Monday!), I will be going on my first real solo adventure. I’m flying out to Minneapolis, Minnesota to work at The Playwrights’ Center, an esteemed theatrical institution that helps playwrights develop their scripts-in-progress.  Now, I am going to the Center as an intern, not a playwright (this time!), but I am INCREDIBLY excited because I will be watching the workshop process first hand, participating in the development of new scripts, and connecting with playwrights, directors, and actors in my field.

I’m also a little bit terrified. I’ve never flown by myself before. I don’t really KNOW anyone in Minnesota (I’m staying with friends of friends). And I’m facing the prospect of public transportation in the city sans pepper spray (which I cannot, to my consternation, take on the plane).  And I’m without my husband for two weeks.  😦 I’m not going to lie; I’m kind of nervous.

BUT — one of the greatest opportunities I get is to work directly with playwright Winter Miller.  I am privileged to currently have her work-in-progress — a script entitled The Arrival — in my possession. I haven’t had a chance to read it yet because of everything I need to get done before I leave on Monday, but if all else fails, I’m reading it on the plane!

Playwright Winter Miller in Uganda. Photo by Katy Fox.

What I do know about Winter Miller’s writing is this: she will go anywhere and do whatever she needs to do to tell the story that needs to be told. She traveled to Africa to write the play In Darfur, a recipient of The Guthrie Theater and Playwrights’ Center Two-Headed Challenge 2006 commission. She’s been mentored by New York Times journalist and Pulitzer recipient Nicholas Kristof and she’s had her plays developed and/or produced by The Public, The Guthrie, Sundance, The Donmar and the Tricycle, just to name a few.  The woman has worked not only in American theatres, but theatres in London, Canada, and Uganda as well.

So…if Winter Miller can go all the way to Uganda to write a commissioned piece about women suffering in Darfur, I suppose I can summon up my dramachicky courage to go on a much smaller, much safer adventure of my own.  And hopefully I’ll get a chance to interview the exceptional Ms. Miller for myself.  🙂  I will keep you posted.

Tune in next time for —

ADVENTUUUURES…WIIIIITH….CHICKYYYYYYYYY!!!!

About dramachicky

I am a dramachick: a playwright, actress, director, wife, singer, reader, aunt, daughter, student, teacher, and dreamer. My husband has taken to calling me dramachicky. :-) I have my M.A. and M.F.A. in creative writing/playwriting from Wilkes University. My husband and I started a small theatre group in northeast Pennsylvania called Ghostlight Productions. I love all things theatre and I am thrilled to launch this blog as a celebration of women playwrights.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Announcing “Adventures with Chicky!”

  1. Pingback: Adventures with Chicky! Day One at The Playwrights’ Center | dramachicks

  2. Pingback: Newsday Tuesday: Workshop It! | dramachicks

Leave a Reply

