A Merry Masculine Christmas

So…I haven’t finished my interview with the exceptionally busy, exceptionally talented playwright that I was  going to feature this week. So that’s going to have to hold until NEXT Friday (hopefully).  And I’m very excited to review the Barbara Lebow’s script A Shayna Maidel for you on Tuesday.  But what on earth am I going to blog about today?

I’m going to take a detour from my typical Friday format (do I have a typical format anymore? Ten points if anyone can tell me what it is) and I’m going to pose a question:

Why aren’t there any Christmas plays written by women?

It’s that time of year.  Snow is falling on wordpress.com (seriously…it’s kind of weird), my Christmas tree is up, lights are hung, and I’ve got a Christmas moose staring at me from my candelabra (if that last bit didn’t make any sense to you it probably means your Christmas decorating sense is more sophisticated than mine).  All of this craziness indicates that holiday music, holiday movies, and yes, holiday plays are to be expected. And I don’t mean live nativity scenes or church musicals (which are, by the way, find an dandy), but I mean rousing renditions of A Christmas Story and superfluous stage adaptations of Charles Dickens’ A Christmas Carol. Bloomsburg Theatre Ensemble is putting on Truman Capote’s Holiday Memories plus a special run of The Santaland Diaries.  And you know what all these things have in common besides Christmas?

They are all written and/or adapted by MEN.  Now, as a general rule, I’m ok with this.  I don’t have a probably with men who write plays, nor do I take issue with plays written by men. Some of my favorite plays (The Crucible, Hamlet, The Importance of Being Earnest) were written by men and some of my favorite playwrights (Arthur Miller, Tennessee Williams, Martin McDonough) are male.  So honestly, I have no problem with this.

But ladies…where ARE you?!  What’s going on here that I can’t find Christmas (or even HOLIDAY) plays written by members of the female persuasion?  Do we somehow lack the Christmas spirit?  Or, as the age-old tale goes, are they being written and just not being produced and/or published?

Maybe I’m just really out of the loop. I have to admit; I’m not entirely “up” on my knowledge of Christmas plays.  And to be honest…I don’t have much of a desire to write one myself.  But it’s just something I noticed — a sufficient lack of female voices around the holiday season. If you have any theories on this, I’d love to hear them. Or maybe you could let me know what Christmas plays you’ve witnessed or read that were written by female playwrights. I’d love to find out that in this case my assessment of the situation is wrong.

Now go check out the snow on wordpress.com.  Seriously, it totally weirds me out.

About dramachicky

I am a dramachick: a playwright, actress, director, wife, singer, reader, aunt, daughter, student, teacher, and dreamer. My husband has taken to calling me dramachicky. :-) I have my M.A. and M.F.A. in creative writing/playwriting from Wilkes University. My husband and I started a small theatre group in northeast Pennsylvania called Ghostlight Productions. I love all things theatre and I am thrilled to launch this blog as a celebration of women playwrights.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Merry Masculine Christmas

  1. I’ve never thought about the gender of playwrights penning Christmas plays, so I thank you! But I do have one in my repertoire: A.N.G.E.L.s Inc. It’s a one-act I wrote in 2001/2002, and it’s had two local productions in two different theatres. I had a lot of fun writing about the birth from the angels’
    point of view, as ABC (Angel Broadcasting Company) had been sent to film the event for the heavenly archives and everything goes wrong. The script needs edits. Now that Wilkes has honed my skills, your blog just may be inspiration I need to do some rewriting and get the script circulating!

    • dramachicky says:

      That’s great, Cindy! 🙂 Sounds like a fun script. After you revise, you should shop it around some more; I bet a lot of places are looking for new theatre to do at Christmas. The pickings (whether written by men OR women) are rather slim!!

Leave a Reply

