The Return of Dramachicky

Happy 2012, dramachicks (and dramadudes)! I can’t believe it’s been more than two weeks since I last addressed you. In that time I put on my traveling shoes and went to Arizona for the first time, spending Christmas Day with my husband and my best friend (my former college roommate) and her husband at the Grand Canyon. Feel free to view or skip the following self-indulgent vacation photos. They have nothing to do with playwriting. YET.

Dramachicky and hubby at the Grand Canyon on Christmas Day

Hiking into the Canyon

Inspiring

Dramachicky's bestie

Hiking in Sierra Vista

Our reward -- the view!

Ever seen a HUGE leaning saguaro cactus?

Loving Saguaro!

Now…down to business. In January, doesn’t “getting down to business” usually mean resolutions?  I tend to balk at the idea of resolutions. Does anyone actually keep them?  EVER?  Well, there’s only one way to find out.  To mark this momentous day, henceforth known as The Return of Dramachicky, I have a few resolutions for this blog.

Dramachicky solemnly resolves to:

1. Post more interviews.  I have been sadly lax in this department. When I started out last June all starry-eyed with the brilliant idea of writing a blog that celebrates women playwrights, I had lined up in my head all the amazing people I would interview: Paula Vogel. Sarah Ruhl. Caridad Svich. Sarah Ruhl. Caryl Churchill. And Sarah Ruhl. Of course, I scored the interview with Caridad Svich (still my record day for blogpost views!) but my momentum petered out very quickly. Just because I got ONE famous playwright to answer my questions didn’t mean that Paula Vogel would be sending me her business card with a list of available talk times. I scored again by connecting with local legend Laurie McCants of the Bloomsburg Theatre Ensemble but then…I stalled. I lined up interviews with some wonderful playwrights and thought I was in the clear until I remembered that, hey, playwrights are busy.  They have more to do than answer my interview questions two days after I send them!  And as for Sarah Ruhl…my obsession continues. I figure if I mention her name online often enough, eventually she will find ME.  That’s how it works, right?  😉 Bottom line: I resolve to actively seek out new playwrights and send out more interview requests and interview questions in the grand hopes of actually HAVING at least one interview to post monthly. This is my goal.  If you know a female playwright who you think I should interview, pass their name my way. I’ll tell you how to get in touch with me to pass on their contact info!

2. Read more plays. I’ve talked about this. I call myself a playwright but the number of plays I have read — never mind the number of plays written BY WOMEN that I have read — is surprisingly and disturbingly low.  I hereby resolve to read at least two plays per month written by female playwrights.

3. Post more play reviews. This sort of goes with number two.  The whole point of my reading plays by women playwrights is so that YOU become aware of the fantastic plays out there that are written by women playwrights!  Now, I warn you, I will be honest.  I might review a play that I didn’t like or that I think pushed an agenda too heavily.  This isn’t going to be a never-ending lovefest, but hopefully an honest, polite, and thoughtful criticism of works being published (and produced!).  I hereby resolve to write and post at least 2 reviews of plays written by women per month. Some of these may be the plays I’ve read; others the plays I’ve seen (shockingly few lately; I am poor).  Regardless, I am renewing my dedication to bringing you, my audience, actual production reviews and not just a slap-shod list of what’s playing on The Great White Way.

I think 3 resolutions is enough, don’t you?  If not, let me know.  I’m open to ideas and opinions.  I shall continue to bring you relevant theatre news, to occasionally indulge myself with an opinionated post about what-have-you, and of course, to highlight amazing playwrights who are beyond my reach as an interviewer (either because they are so “beyond” amazing or because…well…you know…they’re in “THE BEYOND”).

Tuesdays and Fridays will continue to be my big blogging days, unless my new schedule requires a change. As always, you feedback is most welcome!  Thanks for sticking with this dramachick.  I’ll see you here Friday!

Oh…one more indulgence.  A friend got me a cool writer’s gift this Christmas:

🙂  I thought it was appropriate.

About dramachicky

I am a dramachick: a playwright, actress, director, wife, singer, reader, aunt, daughter, student, teacher, and dreamer. My husband has taken to calling me dramachicky. :-) I have my M.A. and M.F.A. in creative writing/playwriting from Wilkes University. My husband and I started a small theatre group in northeast Pennsylvania called Ghostlight Productions. I love all things theatre and I am thrilled to launch this blog as a celebration of women playwrights.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Return of Dramachicky

  1. Pingback: Just Do It « The Kreen of the Crop

  2. Pingback: On Stage: An Interview with Cindy Dlugolecki | dramachicks

Leave a Reply

