Newsday…Wednesday? Cue Craziness

So, I am in the midst of casting Romeo & Juliet, Ghostlight Productions’ 4th Annual Shakespeare in the Park, and as a result I completely forgot to blog yesterday. :-/ Whoops!  It’s ok, I’m still here, just super-busy-crazy (as always, I know, I know, what’s changed?!).

So here’s a little “Newsday Tuesday” for you, just one day late.  😉  It’s also a bit of personal news, but it’s something I’m really excited about and I think it’s something YOU will like to hear about, especially if you are within easy access to northeast PA.

I am currently working on a ten-minute play for Wilkes-Barre based Gaslight Theatre Company (not to be confused with Ghostlight Productions). The play will be produced along with 5-6 other plays in June of this year. (!!!) This is my first official commissioned work (my commission fee: two tickets to the show) and I am enjoying it SO MUCH.  I’ll tell you, after working on a full-length play and trying my hand at a YA novel (in progress – oy), it’s been refreshing to work on something short and sweet.  Well, ok, it’s not terribly “sweet” because there’s a good bit of violence in it, but still – highly enjoyable.  🙂

So that’s it for today!  A short-sweet post about my short-sweet (but exciting!) news.  I’ll hopefully be back on Friday with my review (finally!) of Baptist Bible College’s production of A Shayna Maidel. And stay tuned for more information on the upcoming Gaslight Theatre Company production of which my work will be a part.  (SQUEEE!!)

Yes, I just squeed like a little girl.  I know.  I know.

About dramachicky

I am a dramachick: a playwright, actress, director, wife, singer, reader, aunt, daughter, student, teacher, and dreamer. My husband has taken to calling me dramachicky. :-) I have my M.A. and M.F.A. in creative writing/playwriting from Wilkes University. My husband and I started a small theatre group in northeast Pennsylvania called Ghostlight Productions. I love all things theatre and I am thrilled to launch this blog as a celebration of women playwrights.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

