Plays for the Easter Weekend

There’s a project I’ve been working on for a while called Three Days that is about (as some of you may have guessed) the three days from Christ’s death to his resurrection. We hear a lot about Day One – his crucifixion – and Day Three – his triumph over death. But what about that second day?  The day that everyone who believed in him thought he was, well, dead. REALLY dead. And he was. Dead. For an entire day. DEAD.

Talk about the darkest day in Christianity.

Despite it’s subject matter, I’ve never really thought of Three Days as an “Easter play” (or “Easter musical” more technically, since I am working with a composer).  It’s always been a play/musical about faith, doubt, despair, love, hope, and – yes – Jesus Christ.  But I do hope it transcends personal belief and that, in some way, might communicate to people who have in their own life suffered loss and asked God, “What are you doing and WHY?” And yet, technically…it does have a good bit to do with Easter.  🙂

With that in mind, and today being Good Friday, I thought I’d offer up a few plays for Easter weekend (and as always, written by female playwrights).

Passion Play by Sarah Ruhl

Maria and Ascension by Hrotsvitha von Gandersheim

The Barking plays by Lady Katherine of Sutton

After Easter by Anne Devlin

I know this is a really short list. Trust me; this is harder than it looks! Remember those people who ask “where are the women playwrights?” Well, the answer is that they’re THERE but if they aren’t being read/produced/published, then they are difficult, if not impossible, to find. So help me out; if you have any other suggestions for plays written by women that are particularly appropriate for this Easter weekend, please comment and send them my way. As always, thanks for celebrating female playwrights with me!

About dramachicky

I am a dramachick: a playwright, actress, director, wife, singer, reader, aunt, daughter, student, teacher, and dreamer. My husband has taken to calling me dramachicky. :-) I have my M.A. and M.F.A. in creative writing/playwriting from Wilkes University. My husband and I started a small theatre group in northeast Pennsylvania called Ghostlight Productions. I love all things theatre and I am thrilled to launch this blog as a celebration of women playwrights.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

